East Oregonian wins general excellence award

site-logoThe East Oregonian is back on top, winning the General Excellence award from the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association for the fourth time in five years.

“The General Excellence award is the true team effort award for Oregon newspapers,” said managing editor Daniel Wattenburger. “It factors in every piece of the process, from front page stories and photos to sports coverage to creative advertising to print reproduction. It’s an honor to win the award and speaks to a staff dedicated to creating a high-quality daily newspaper.”

The Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association General Excellence award is judged on three randomly selected copies of the paper from different months and days. It is based on news, editorial, photos, design, advertising and reproduction.

“Winning the General Excellence award is an honor shared by the entire EO staff, but most of all a tribute to the professionalism of our editors and reporters who work hard to cover Umatilla and Morrow counties,” said publisher Kathryn Brown.

The East Oregonian took home numerous other individual awards in the competition. Phil Wright won first place for best news feature story for “Brother, Killer, Mystery,” which ran March 1. In addition, photographer E.J. Harris won best sports photo with “Boozer Siblings.” East Oregonian staff won first place for best headlines, with Drew Langton, Daniel Wattenburger and Tim Trainor supplying most of the puns. The final first place award won by the newspaper was for the Round-Up Magazine, which won best special section. Patrick Mulvihill and E.J. Harris did much of the work for the magazine.

Additional awards: second place, business reporting went to George Plaven for “Pipe Dreams”; second place, lifestyle to Kathy Aney and Antonio Sierra for “Homeless stories”; second place, sports story to Kathy Aney “Lacrosse”; second place feature photo to E.J. Harris documenting a Milton-Freewater woman who lost her leg in a car accident; and second place news photo, also to E.J. Harris, for a picture of a fatal shooting by police in Athena.