EO Media Group wins national award for digital innovation

  EO Media Group’s marketplace platform was named Best New Digital Initiative by Local Media Association, a national organization that serves more than 2,400 media companies. The award, announced Feb. 1, was the result of the association’s Digital Innovation Contest. More than 80 different companies submitted hundreds of entries. The faculty at the University of […]

Chinook Observer wins 38 statewide press awards

WENATCHEE — Chinook Observer staff and freelancers won 38 awards in the Washington Newspaper Publishers Association 2015-2016 “Better Newspapers” contest. These awards included third-place in the “General Excellence” category, in which newspapers of similar circulation size compete to win honors for the overall quality of the publication, a first-place “Sports Writer of the Year” award […]

EOMG brings in 44 ONPA awards this year

Congratulations to all the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association Better Newspaper Contest winners! By my count, EO Media Group brought home 44 awards in total. The Daily Astorian brought home the award for best increase in circulation among any daily in Oregon. We celebrate two first places, four seconds and two thirds. A good showing. The […]

Chieftain wins seven awards

The Wallowa County Chieftain garnered a total of seven awards in two annual contests sponsored by the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association (ONPA). The Chieftain news staff received three awards in ONPA’s 2015 Better Newspaper Contest, while the newspaper’s advertising department brought home four awards in the association’s 2015 Better Ad Ideas Contest. Submissions are judged […]

Capital Press sweeps ONPA divison

The Capital Press swept the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association awards contest for its division. Competing against other associate members, the Capital Press won first-place awards in each of the five award categories. In the target audience category, the newspaper was honored on its level of interest, relevance, creativity and commitment to its audience. Photographs of […]

Eagle brings home awards from ONPA

Lincoln City – The Blue Mountain Eagle staff brought home a collection of awards from the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association (ONPA) annual meeting and awards banquet, held last week in Lincoln City. The Eagle news staff received seven awards in ONPA’s 2015 Better Newspaper Contest, while the newspaper’s advertising department brought home five awards in […]

East Oregonian wins general excellence award

The East Oregonian is back on top, winning the General Excellence award from the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association for the fourth time in five years. “The General Excellence award is the true team effort award for Oregon newspapers,” said managing editor Daniel Wattenburger. “It factors in every piece of the process, from front page stories […]

Astorian recognized for excellence at Oregon awards

The Astorian, which competed in the 10,000 or less circulation category, brought home 18 awards, including two firsts for Our Coast magazine. The Daily Astorian and its sister publications and websites in Oregon earned 51 awards at the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association’s annual Better Newspaper and Best Ad Ideas contests this week. At the conference […]

Herald wins four awards in statewide contest

The Hermiston Herald won four awards in the Oregon Newspaper Publishers’ Better Newspaper Contest announced today at the organization’s summer convention at Salishan Spa and Golf Resort at Gleneden Beach south of Lincoln City. Former Herald editor Jessica Keller won a first place award for best editorial writing for a collection of three opinion pieces: […]

EO Media Group journalists win awards in regional competition

SEATTLE — Journalists at the Chinook Observer and other EO Media Group-owned publications won several awards in the 2014 Northwest Excellence in Journalism Competition. Each year, newspaper, magazine and online photographers and journalists from Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska compete for a variety of honors in the contest, which is sponsored by the regional […]